Théodore Ott Prize

The Théodore Ott Prize, founded in accordance with the will of the physician Théodore Ott (1909 – 1991), Professor of Neurology in Lausanne, is awarded every five years since 1997 to scientists for their outstanding work in basic research in neurology.

Eligible for the Prize are well-established researchers or research groups with remarkable scientific achievements, international recognition and a proven track record in the field of basic research in neurology. The awarded research must be of excellent quality, original, innovative and topical. According to the founders’ will, preference is given to Swiss researchers and research groups or to researchers having been working in Swiss institutions of higher education for a significant amount of time.


The Théodore Ott-Prize is awarded once every five years with a prize sum of CHF 50'000.– for a single laureate or CHF 30’000.– each if two laureates are distinguished simultaneously.


Applications, written in English, may be submitted by candidates or by their academic institution. All applications must be registered online.


The next submission deadline is 31 May 2021.


Online registration page


Synopsis of past laureates


Expert Committee (in German)












Dr. Myriam Tapernoux
Head of Department